Minuteglass

There were none
to offer solace
For the time that had passed me by 
Had me, pass it by.

Grains of sand 
As they trickle through,
Decamp the morbidity of the mortal realm
Fathom all the life and suspend their self into death
Only enough to lick it bare
and drop it there.

Stays not for the moments it bends
But for the holes it carves
Into the treasure chests and torn sheets of the mind.

The unspoken salt left to bitterness of the lips
As the waves that splashed in a split second
Come roaring down.
All that it is, 
Alive and dead,
Sprayed in Delphic cues for sophists to live by.

What is that it loses? 
What is that I gain?
Living on a prayer, sipping holiness
As a life exists on fear
As trepid as it leaves us
All in vain.

(Picture of Salvador Dali’s Persistence of Memory by Jimmy Baikovicius)

3 Comments Add yours

  1. SRIKANTH says:

    Wonderful poem 👍🤝

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I second this.

    Also, when I read the following line, I couldn’t help but lick my lips and cringe a bit:

    The unspoken salt left to bitterness of the lips

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mysterious Scribbler says:

      Ahh, I always appreciate a salty cringe when reading this line! Thank you!

      Like

Leave a comment